Carleton University’s Arthur Kroeger College of Public Affairs recently announced its 2008 Arthur Kroeger Award Winners which recognize individuals and organizations who, by their contributions to public life, have made Canadians more informed, their governing institutions more effective, and their country a better place to live.

We were excited to hear that PLAN and PLAN Institute won the Citizenship and Community Affairs award for our work on the RDSP.  Susan Whittaker, Chair of the PLAN Board of Directors, and Jack Styan, Executive Director of PLAN, attended the ceremony in Ottawa on Thursday April 3rd at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier and accepted the award.

We are especially pleased with this award as the winners were selected by independent juries composed of prominent Canadians from the public, private, and non-profit sectors.  It is nice to know that so many people are aware of the work we are doing.  Thank you to everyone who supported our work and helped us throughout the development of the RDSP.  We may have received the award, but I think we should take the opportunity to acknowledge that this plan could not have become a reality without the hard work of a large number of people in both the community and government sectors.

For more information you can visit